Next Release

Farrington And Mann
"The Promise"

30 Years on Farrington + Mann (of "When In Rome" fame) re-imagine their breakout hit "The Promise" with a full Orchestra

Clive Farrington and Andrew Mann are the singers and creative core of the UK based 1980s band "When In Rome". In 1988 their debut track 'The Promise' was signed by Virgin Records and involved renowned producers such as Ben Rogan & Richard James Burgess. The Promise was initially issued as a 12" extended dance disc. One thing led to another and eventually San Francisco based Live 105 Radio heard the track. With that breakthrough the track soon spread like wildfire across all the major stations in the U.S. After hitting Billboard's Dance Club Play chart, a remixed version of "The Promise" was the first single from their self-titled debut album. It was an instant success, and became a massive hit on the Billboard Hot 100 in the United States. The song hit No. 1 on the Billboard Club Play Chart at the same time.

Fast forward to 2003, the band receive word from film maker, Jared Hess who wants to use The Promise in a new film he just made called 'Napoleon Dynamite'. Released a year later in 2004 the movie went on to win many awards and became a cult smash. Thus, The Promise becomes a huge hit again for a totally new and young audience.

Now roll on to the present day, 2020 and the band celebrate another milestone.

30 years on and their breakthrough - and now seminal - track 'The Promise' has been re-recorded with The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra .

The release features 11 brand new recordings.

The wide cinematic-scope and the power of the original song is augmented here with the full range of the Orchestra taking the classic to new heights. The package features several alternate versions featuring the Orchestra only and Orchestra - voice versions. The duo also remain true to their dance floor roots with a series of remixes from Kim And Buran (who tackle disco and synthpop grooves) and Italo disco, balearic meisters of the genre Baldelli and Rocca.

The duo are touring throughout 2020 and working on a second orchestral outing as we speak.

You can also purchase a limited edition purple 12" version of this release directly from the Farrington + Mann Website. * At present the vinyl is only available to be shipped internally in the USA.

Written by Andrew Mann, Clive Farrington & Mike Floreale.
Published by Kobalt Music Publishing.
Produced by John Bryan and Sare Havlicek Programming by Slava Voroshnin.
Synthesizers by Sare Havlicek.
Orchestral parts performed by The City Of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra and Slovenia Symphonic Flim Orchestra.
Orchestral Arrangements by Pete Whitfield, John Bryan & Sare Havlicek.
Front cover photo by Howard Greenhalgh.
Rear cover photo by Jason Debord.
Artwork design and layout by Clive Farrington & Rich Elson.
P & C 2020 August Day

1. The Promise [Orchestral Version] Buy Track ( 0.94)
2. The Promise [Main Version] Buy Track ( 0.94)
3. The Promise [Kim & Buran Discoelectro Remix] Buy Track ( 0.94)
4. The Promise [Clive Farrington Club Remix] Buy Track ( 0.94)
5. The Promise [Daniele Baldelli & DJ Rocca Vocal Remix] Buy Track ( 0.94)
6. The Promise [Kim & Buran Melancholectro Remix] Buy Track ( 0.94)
7. The Promise [Orchestral Extended Mix] Buy Track ( 0.94)
8. The Promise [Orchestra and Vocal Version] Buy Track ( 0.94)
9. The Promise [Orchapella] Buy Track ( 0.94)
10. *The Promise [Orchestral Instrumental] Buy Track ( 0.94)
11. *The Promise [Main Instrumental] Buy Track ( 0.94)
Buy All Tracks ( 7.55)
* Tracks only available from label direct.